By The Arizona Corporation Commission 

The Arizona Corporation Commission, Arizona’s fourth, co-equal branch of state government, joins the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) and the National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) as a member of the new Task Force for Comprehensive Electricity Planning. Arizona is one of 16 states selected to represent this consortium. 

The two-year collaborative initiative of NARUC and NASEO, announced last November, is a forum for participating states to develop new approaches to better align distribution system and resource planning processes. The selected states will pioneer new tools and roadmaps for aligning planning to meet states’ needs while applying insights from the task force to initiate action in their own states. At the conclusion of the task force, NARUC and NASEO will publish templates that all members can adapt and use for their states. 

Twenty-one states requested to join the task force. Based on evaluations of the states’ submissions, 16 were invited to join because they offer diverse and representative combinations of geographies, market models, current planning approaches and state policy goals. 

“We understand the value of having a seat at the table so we may learn from other states as we navigate the energy planning terrain,” said Corporation Commission Chairman Bob Burns. “Our participation will be beneficial for the Corporation Commission’s integrated resource planning process that we are working on right now.” 

Three representatives from Arizona are invited to participate. The Corporation Commission’s Chairman Bob Burns, Policy Advisor Steve Olea, and Arizona State University Professor of Practice in Utility Law and Policy Kris Mayes will represent Arizona on the task force. 

“This is a historic partnership, which is necessitated by the ever-changing power system, at a time when leadership is needed,” said NARUC President Nick Wagner of the Iowa Utilities Board. “The utility regulatory community looks forward to working together with our state energy office colleagues to provide the tools and roadmap for a positive future.” 

NASEO Board Chair and task force Co-Vice Chair Andrew McAllister looks forward to working with state regulators to examine electricity planning issues. 

“This process will help us stay ahead of rapidly accelerating technological advancements and extract the most value from them, rather than playing catch up and missing opportunities,” he said, adding, “We look forward to working with our colleagues and stakeholders to improve the outcomes for everyone.”. 

Other members of the task force leadership noted positive outcomes and benefits now that state representatives have been selected. The 16 states selected are: 

  1. Arizona 
  2. Arkansas 
  3. California (co-vice chair) 
  4. Colorado (co-chair) 
  5. Hawaii 
  6. Indiana 
  7. Maine 
  8. Maryland 
  9. Michigan 
  10. Minnesota 
  11. North Carolina 
  12. Ohio (co-vice chair) 
  13. Puerto Rico 
  14. Rhode Island 
  15. Utah (co-chair) 
  16. Virginia 

The task force initiative is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy and will hold its first working meeting this spring. More information is available on the Task Force on Comprehensive Electricity Planning website at: www.naruc.orciltaskforce. 

About us: 

The Arizona Corporation Commission was established by the state’s constitution to regulate public utilities and business incorporation. The five Commissioners elected to the Corporation Commission oversee executive, legislative, and judicial proceedings on behalf of Arizonans when it comes to their water, electricity, telephone, and natural gas resources as well as the regulation of securities, pipeline, and railroad safety. To learn more about the Arizona Corporation Commission and its Commissioners, visit