Foothills FBLA

By Joseph Galish

It was another incredibly strong showing from San Tan Foothills FBLA at this year’s State Leadership Conference located at the Westin La Paloma.

Sabercat FBLA has establish a legacy of excellence expanding 10 years at both the state and national levels and this year was no exception. 

San Tan Foothills FBLA received the highest honor of Gold Chapter for the 8th time! They even sponsored an event called Healthcare Administration where they paid the winner of the event $100.00!

San Tan Foothills was most excited to honor Mr. Gary Carbonneau as Administrator of the Year. Mr. Carbonneau received his award during our opening ceremony in front of over 2,000 members and advisors. It was an amazing and proud moment. Mr. Carbonneau has been supporting FBLA efforts for many years and is more than deserving of the recognition.

Ariana Cleavenger was re-elected as a state officer and will serve her second term serving as an ambassador for both FBLA and San Tan Foothills across Arizona. 

Katie Poe, Zachery Marlin, and Ariana Cleavenger achieved the prestigious National Business Honor Roll.

Antonio Trujillo was the recipient of the FBLA Arizona Foundation Scholarship.

San Tan Foothills welcomed San Tan Heights K-8 into the family this year. Mrs. Williams established a Middle Level Chapter this year and has so many excited and motivated 7th and 8th graders. Mrs. Williams actually brought a group of these motivated students with her to SLC and in their 1st year they put the competition on notice. She and her students walked away with lots of hardware and inspired future business leaders.

Great work by Mrs. Molly Williams—she gets it!

There were tense competitive moments with many highs and some disappointing moments, but in the end it is a roller coaster ride of excitement and emotion that is unmatched. 

It is with tremendous pride we present this year’s list of 25 outstanding members that qualified for National Leadership Conference.

They will proudly represent San Tan Foothills in Baltimore over the summer. 


NAME Event
Jayson Reyes and Drake Plotner Digital Video Production
Katie Poe and Sondra Nathan Public Service Announcement
Jessika Stiltner and Brisa Carranza Public Service Announcement
Tony Trujillo Business Law
Thayne Brown Economics
Mimi Hatfield and Zachery Marlin Emerging Business Issues
Andrew Goodman Entrepreneurship
Alex Feeney Healthcare Administration
Shelby Lopez Public Speaking I
Jacob Bello Public Speaking I
Kaitlyn Craft Public Speaking II
Tyler Reyes and Macaila Bishop Management Information Systems
Bo Nigro and Ariana Cleavenger Marketing
Chloe LaPoint Word Processing
Asia Harvey Hospitality Management
Brock LaPoint, Shannon Ballard, & Jaden Albrant Global Business
Rose Fohrenkam Sales Presentation
Nicolas Zurita Client Services