Swearing In Ceremony on Jan. 16

By The Town of Queen Creek

The Queen Creek Town Council seated the Mayor and three members during a swearing in ceremony on Jan. 16. Mayor Gail Barney, Council member Dawn Oliphant and Council member Julia Wheatley were sworn in a Swearing infor a third term, and Council member Emilena Turley was sworn in for a second term. Council member Robin Benning was also appointed by Mayor Gail Barney as the Vice Mayor for the upcoming year. 

“It’s an honor to serve the residents of Queen Creek for another term,” shared Queen Creek Mayor Gail Barney. “The Town Council and I are looking forward to an exciting year as important roadway projects are completed, we break ground on our first hotel and we welcome new firefighters. This is a wonderful community and each of us are committed to ensuring Queen Creek continues to be a great place to live, play and learn.” 

The reelected members join Council members Robin Benning, Jeff Brown and Jake Hoffman. Council members and the Mayor serve four-year terms. 

The following Town Council committee assignments were also approved for 2019:

Gail Barney: 

MAG (Maricopa Association of Governments) Regional Council, MAG Economic Development Committee, MAG Executive Committee, Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport Board of Directors, Maricopa/Northern Pinal Gateway Alliance, Arizona Tax Commission and the Queen Creek Public Safety Retirement Board 

Robin Benning: 

Budget Committee, CAG (Central Arizona Governments) Regional Council and Sun Corridor MPO 

Jeff Brown: 

Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee, Transportation Advisory Committee and League GAHRE (General Administration, Human Resource and Elections) Committee

Jake Hoffman: 

Budget Committee Commission and East Valley Partnership Board of Directors 

Dawn Oliphant: 

Economic Development Commission, Neighborhoods, Sustainability & Quality of Life Committee and League Public Safety, Military Affairs and Courts Committee

Emilena Turley: 

Economic Development Commission and Transportation Advisory Committee  

Julia Wheatley: 

Budget Committee (chair), Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee, and League Transportation, Infrastructure and Public Works Committee